So my day started this morning around 8:30am. I woke up and got ready for work and then got to work at 11am which is the time that my boss had instructed us to show up. So anyway I got to the office and I was the only one there. Well come to find out the group from Abilene was running late and said that they were going to be there at noon. So I leave and run a couple of errands and then return to the off at noon to find out they were still 30mins out. Now keep in mind that the boss that informed us to be there at 11 was apart of this group that showed up at 12:30 and not 11 as she instructed. But anyways we finally got gathered together and then went out in teams and started knocking on doors which is something that everyone loves to do, but then it is all the sudden 7pm and now the want to start doing demos for people. Just a lil piece of knowledge for you a demo takes about 2hrs. So at this point I am hungry and mad that I am working oil field hrs and not getting paid near oil field wages. So we gather up out at good ol Lake Nasworthy and wait for our boss to get an appointment cleared and then we take on this appointment at about 8pm. Initially the demo went great. I couldn't have asked to be trained and showed how to do something by someone any better. BUT, then it came down to pricing and things started rolling down hill from there. Now me out of all people understand finances and financial situations. Remember I was an alcoholic for 2yrs and then I just got laid off from my job 2weeks ago. So anyway the monthly payment was a lil high for this couple and so we worked it down quite a bit but it was still too high for the husband to accept the terms. Fair enough. Right? WRONG!!! The guy that just did a great demo for this couple started this determined car salesman language that deters me from buying anything from him. Reguardless of how good the product is. Well after speaking and dealing with this couple it seemed as though the pricing was still too high and I thought that we were packing up and leaving, at now 11:45pm. Well little did I know that while I was outside talking with the husband my trainer was inside coaxing his wife to get his credit info so that they can meet tomorrow and make the deal final. Will this product save them money? Yes. Is this product a good investment? Yes. But did the husband agree to the terms? NO! Now I don't know how you feel about this situation, but I do not think that that was the ethical thing to do. This was a very good couple with a very young little girl and to me it was like my trainer just came in and got in between the couple and talked a good game and made a decision for this couple that should be made by the couple. That, to me, is just wrong. And furthermore, if that is what they are expecting of me....I just can't do that.
Why does money drive people to do things like come in between a couple like this one. Now the guy that was traing me is going to get a $750 commission off of the sale, but to me $750 in my pocket is not worth coming between these fine people with this little girl. I would have rather left the house on good standing with both the husband and wife and not have made the sale than get than get the money and cause the wife to do something like steal this man's identity so that their credit will be approved for something like this.
Now on a positive note....the husband kinda got the gist that I am not real sure about this company and gave me a card for a friend of his to call and try to get a different job. Now I am in a crossfire. This man trusted me enough to offer me something that could very possibly be a better job and my co-workers are sneaking around him to make a sale to his wife through his credit. Its just wrong and everyone one there tonight will agree to that but the dollar sign was just too tempting for my co-worker. Hopefully it does not effect my opportunity to get the other job because I will not be associated with anything like that again. I stand by my honesty and integrity and I am not willing to trade that for any dollar amount.
Now tell me... Am I right in this or am I just over reacting?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I couldn't agree with you more. it is wrong and if you were to stand there and act like nothing happened makes you just as guilty....speaking from experience. God will work it out.
ReplyDelete